RSS

This Saturday: We go to Mass then Exploring Our Traditions

19 Sep

Gang, this Saturday we will be participating in a special Mass at the chapel along with all the Saturday Faith Formation students. Your parents are also invited.

As 8th grade students you will be able to participate in a special way.  We have been asked to have students serve as readers for this Mass.  Please let me know if you would like to read one of the readings, responsorial psalm or petitions. 

After Mass we will all get together back in the school for snacks and to socialize a bit.

Image

And now your assignment for next class: between now and the next time we meet for a regular class (September 29th) talk to you parents, grandparents, god-parents or any other adult who has helped you to learn about their faith.   Ask the adult to describe one practice they learned as a child that helped them to have a rich experience of the Mass or some other aspect of their faith.   This could be a prayer they learned, a devotion (such as praying the rosary as a family) or a faith based family routine – for example sharing what each family member is thankful for at the dinner table.  I will share one of my own.

Deepening my experience of the Eucharist  I learned this in my high school which was a small, Catholic, girls school where I grew up in Michigan.  You may know that teenage girls can, at times, be less than charitable, maybe even a bit mean to one another. Our teacher knew this and wanted to do something to help us be kinder, more Christian to one another.  We went to Mass regularly, perhaps once a week.  Our teacher suggested that after we receive communion and were kneeling quietly in our pews watching others receive that we train ourselves to think kind thoughts of others. She suggested that we silently say “you are my sister” as we watch each of our classmates receive the Eucharist. For me it was a reminder that we are all brothers and sisters in Christ and to be kind as we think about our classmates.

This is a practice which has stayed with me. I have evolved it to be a little prayer: “God bless my sister”  or brother, etc.  If I know the person who is receiving I think of them by name: “God bless Debbie”, “God bless Phil”  etc.   I still do this today.  When I distribute communion as a Eucharistic minister I do the same thing. I think it makes a difference in how I relate to that person.

So talk to an adult, find out what practices they learned as children and share them here.  Please put the name and relationship of the person you talked to.  Thanks and let me know if you have any questions!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “This Saturday: We go to Mass then Exploring Our Traditions

  1. Angelina Higgins

    September 25, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    As a child, my mom would say prayers at night. Her family used to go to Church every Sunday and on Holy Days of Obligation like and Ash Wednesdayand on special occasions like the Blessing of the Throats. She went to a Catholic school until sixth grade. They ate only fish on Christmas Eve, and then ate sausage after midnight. Her Sicilian uncle brought that tradition into the family. They always put the Nativity under the tree and never put in baby Jesus until Christmas morning.

     
    • Suzanne Walsh

      September 28, 2012 at 5:05 pm

      Very nice Angelina! Sounds like you had a great conversation with you Mom. The tradition of eating sausage after mid-night is one that I have not heard. Thanks for sharing!

       
  2. Michael Gordon

    September 25, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    My sister said when she was about 17, she started going to retreats at CYFM AKA catholic youth family ministries and attending youth group. That is how she got to really love God for who He really is. She really knew God was with her all the time instead of at church. She keeps going to these retreats ever since. She has been making new friends and descovering God in different ways.

     
    • Suzanne Walsh

      September 28, 2012 at 5:07 pm

      Thank you Michael, did your sister’s experience encourage you to want to do the same?

       
  3. Dan Csakany

    September 28, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    My mom went to Catholic elementary, high school and college. She would attend mass, with her class the first Friday of every month as well as the student mass which was held at 8:45 am. When she was in 6th grade, her teacher, Sr. Helen would make her class pray a decade of the rosary every day after lunch and then they would recite the Hail Holy Queen prayer and the Memorare. Her class used to hate doing this but as she got older, my mom learned to appreciate the prayers to Mary and today, while she sits at a doctor’s office, driving in the car, or before mass starts, my mom is always praying a decade of the rosary.

     
    • Suzanne Walsh

      September 28, 2012 at 5:08 pm

      Very nice Dan, great to hear that your Mom carries her practices from school into her life today! So many prayers, I am sure she includes you in them!

       
  4. Katie Shevlin

    September 29, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    My grandmother grew up in Portugal, ever since she was a little kid she would attend mass at her local church but if she wanted to pray for something important or special, she would visit Fatima. She would pray the rosary and pray for the people she loved. Even as an adult, when she goes to Portugal, she still visits Fatima and does everything she did as a child, but now she visits Fatima at least once a week. When I go to Portugal, I visit Fatima with my family. I go to pray for the people I love and we always light candles. Whenever we light a candle and pray for someone special, I believe that God really listens to us.

     

Leave a Reply

 
